• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

23andme genetic testing

searcher

biophile-
I wanted to let you know that your translations all look correct. The order of the nucleotides doesn't matter. And I think the +A/-T for rs2303080 has to be a mistake.

LaurieL

Well then, its a small world isn't it. I almost emailed you from the snpedia site but then I finally had my ah-hah moment.

Your contributions to the site are much appreciated!!

Laurie

topaz

Hi

Re: "orange" people

Im a newbie to this forum and have been reading a lot of the threads here.

Not wanting to dumb-down the SNP discussion, I can make a brief comment on "orange people".

Taking high doses of beta carotene to "tan" ones skin was common in the 1980's(??). The resulting "tan" was characterised by an orange tinge (ie orange-brown/tan). I googled this again now to confirm my recollection and there are a plethora of "tanning pills" on the market which use beta carotene or beta carotene and canthaxanthin to create a tan. Ofcourse one could just use natural beta carotene as in carrot juice.

I suspect the issue of "orange people" comes from how orange a person is (on the orange to brown scale). From what I recall, taking beta carotene to tan does produce that fake orange/brown tan colour, and not just the brown/tan colour. This is what I recall from the 80's. Maybe todays pills have improved the colour one turns (via canthaxanthin maybe???).

Google "beta carotene and tanning" and you will see the info yourself.