• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

(Gluten) (Coeliac Disease) "'Toxic trio' triggers gut disease"

Dolphin

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-10713775

I have gluten intolerance according to a urine test I did (initially designed for people with Autism) - but not Coeliac Disease. It seems sometimes gluten intolerance is said to mean Coeliac Disease but I think there is a distinction (I'm not an expert on the terminology). Anyway, the blood test showed up normal so I don't think gluten is damaging the intestine the way it does in Coeliac Disease. But I take gluten free bread etc and generally have a low (but not "no") gluten free diet. I wonder will this help people like me? Maybe others are interested also.

Health

'Toxic trio' triggers gut disease

By Helen Briggs
Health reporter, BBC News

The precise cause of the immune reaction that leads to coeliac disease has been discovered.

Three key substances in the gluten found in wheat, rye and barley trigger the digestive condition, UK and Australian researchers say.

This gives a potential new target for developing treatments and even a vaccine, they believe.

Coeliac disease is caused by an intolerance to gluten found in foods like bread, pasta and biscuits.

It is thought to affect around 1 in every 100 people in the UK, particularly women.

The link between gluten and coeliac disease was first established 60 years ago but scientists have struggled to pinpoint the precise component in gluten that triggers it.