• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Why Trish rhymes

Hi folks,

Just thought I'd explain for anyone interested why I call myself Trish rhymes.

I used to be a Maths teacher. Science and Maths were my thing - still are. I still enjoy trying to learn new science and understand the ME science research better.

I HATED poetry at school. It scared me witless. I couldn't learn a poem by heart to save my life. My brain doesn't seem to be wired that way. And when asked to write and essay or answer comprehension questions about a poem, I went into major panic mode. What if I got the answer wrong? What if I made a fool of myself and completely misunderstood the hidden meaning? Nobody told me what I was supposed to do was respond to the poem as it came across to me. I thought I had to get the right answer.

When I was forced into ill health retirement by my ME worsening 13 years ago, I felt quite depressed and a failure. My GP prescribed a course of 6 CBT sessions.

The therapist was worse than useless. For a start, the room allocated for our sessions was up 2 flights of stairs. When I said this was difficult because of my ME he did nothing about it (he could have requested a ground floor room for us). He ignored the fact that I would arrive at the top of the stairs close to tears from exhaustion. In fact one week when I actually did shed tears he told me I should have cancelled the session if I wasn't well enough to focus on the therapy process.