• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Gluten/dairy/sugar-free Chocolate Cake

This is basically Nigella Lawson’s recipe, but with notes and options from my ‘researches’ (in the name of science, obviously). If you go with organic ingredients and use the non-sugar options, this is pretty much a health food.

I’m posting this in part because I’m a decent cook but a useless baker — yet this one works for me. The olive oil thing might seem weird if you’ve never tried it, but it works beautifully and it’s what makes the recipe very forgiving. This is baking for non-bakers. It’s very quick and easy to do, and it seems to work no matter how much you play with the recipe. I keep meaning to try it with a decaf ground coffee instead of the cocoa (probably use less). I suspect it would work.

This is also an ME/CFS-friendly recipe, requiring very little preparation time and not much exertion. A food mixer with a whisk attachment, or an electric hand whisk, makes life easier, but I’ve made it without, just using a hand whisk. The good news: it doesn’t seem to matter if you only do the briefest of whisks. You’ll get a lighter result with more whisking, but this cake is meant to have an almost tart-like consistency, so it just doesn’t matter. Do what you can. It’ll work.

The original recipe uses bicarbonate of soda and the result is quite a low-rise cake, almost like a crustless flan. I’ve also used baking powder and it produces a lighter, higher rise — more regular cakey. We’ve had lengthy discussions in our house over which is better (really, they’re both great).