• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Caledonia's Methylation and Mercury Links

Disclaimer: I am not a medical professional, and nothing I say should be considered medical advice.

Folks,

The info based on Yasko is getting kind of long in the tooth. There is newer, better info as research has progressed.

At this time, I'm suggesting a combination of Ben Lynch's "Dirty Genes" book and the Andy Cutler frequent dose mercury chelation protocol.

Lynch's info emphasizes epigenetics over genetics. Epigenetics are the environment's influence on genetics. Genetics (SNPs) are just potentials and may or may not be expressed (until epigenetic stressors are applied to them). Therefore, it's not a good practice to supplement for your genes just because you have mutations.

Lynch has selected 7 major genes that have a good body of research behind them and are actionable. Some of them are the same as Yasko's genes, and some aren't.

You don't need to have genetic testing to use the book, but if you have already done testing, I suggest also getting Ben Lynch's Strategene report. It can be very enlightening to compare your genetics and epigenetics.