• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Saying hello

Hello fellow CFS-ers!

Thank you for stopping by at my blog! It's a work in progress, so before I go any further (and give the lay of the land), I wanted to share some background about myself and my journey with ME/CFS.

I'm a 4 year veteran with this illness, with concomitant conditions of fibromyalgia and multiple chemical sensitivities. My integrative M.D. and LAc. believe my illness was triggered by two incidents: #1 antibiotic overuse which paralyzed my immune system (I was constantly coming down with a bug/flu-like conditions nearly every month in 2013) and #2 environmental exposures (possibly from work; I was a scientist before testing employee exposure to occupational hazards such as mold, lead, asbestos, dust, and noise). I went on disability in 2013 and then transitioned to retirement due to medical reasons/disability a little more than a year later.