• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Does it ever...? Yes, being disabled gets to me sometimes.

Being disabled gets to me sometimes.

Usually I can shake it off. When an unexpected loud noise causes me to suddenly shriek and collapse? Ahem. I'm fine. Moving on. A stranger in the street mocks me for my mask? Whatever, dude. I lose balance on the dance floor and it's sudden death grip on whatever poor soul I happen to be dancing with at the time? "Heh, sorry!"

Thing is, I've been doing this "out in the real world" thing for a couple years now, so I know approximately what to expect regarding my disabilities and how they interface with the general populace.

But sometimes the perfect storm collides with my reality and it unexpectedly throws me.

Like tonight I walk into a dance hall I've been at half a dozen times before, assuming most people there would be accustomed to the non-conventional sight of me by now. My guard was down, I guess. The cashier was first visibly startled by the sight of my mask, and then reacted with over-dramatic "AAAAUGH! Wow. Uhm. Okay then." completed by eye rolls and shaking his head to indicate just how weird he thought I was being. In the negative sense.

I ignored him. It's my default in dealing with such things. I put it out of mind and moved on.

But then later, on the dance floor, miscommunications due to my mask making it hard to be heard resulted in a dance with a new partner breaking contact frequently, which left me flailing and beginning to panic.