• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

I'm in recovery. Here's how I got there.

TL;DR: TL;DR:
I identified all kinds of things that my body struggles with. The sum of these things made my body collapse in 2008 or left it unable to deal with the bug that causes ME.

I applied personally tailored solutions to any and all of these issues. I will continue to do so even now that I am in recovery. I've gotten to know my body.

The issues I deal with are Digestion, DNA damages, Hormones, Blood Sugar, Sleep and Stress/ANS. I studied them all scientifically and ran little trials to find out what works for me, once I understood the underlying biological system of each issue.
Calming down the nervous system was the final piece of the puzzle.

Long story:
+/+ MTR A2756G, MTRR A669, MAO A R297R and VDR Tag
Also very Progesterone deficient and adrenal insufficiency. I take HRT.
I knew none of this when I didn't recover from a little flu back in 2008.

I was bed bound and debilitatingly brain fogged during 2008 and 2009. I dragged my ass to the doctor and after he had ruled out all the usual culprits (Lyme, vit D, B12, Pfeiffer) he said: "Usual people only have one thing wrong but with you everything's wrong, I don't know where to start!"
My reaction was: "Then it probably doesn't matter where I start. I'll start with digestion then since my poo is grey and floats."
I was educated as an engineer and had no qualms in approaching this disease as a black box, all by myself. Engineer's mantra: entertain theories but only act upon repeatable results.