• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Part II: Interpreting your SNPs Using CBS C699T As An Example

So now comes the challenging bit.

You've gathered all the information you can. You've used some of the services to try and interpret your data. What now?

Let's face the problem head-on. As ME patients, we don't have a lot of focus. It's hard to devote any kind of energy to anything, and that includes intellectual energies. I'm a devoted author who loves to write, but it's become very hard for me to work on anything long-term because juggling that many variables eventually gets to feel like work; it loses its entertainment value and I'm left feeling like writing fantasy is a job I have to push through.

Short articles like this are usually within my grasp. As you'll see by looking at my closing statements, I usually just stop when I get to feeling like that and say, "see you next time!" We can't always do that in other arenas of our lives. I've always had a lot of difficulty stopping a job partway through and picking it up coherently, later, which is why my best stories are always the ones completed within a few days. I believe this is an aspect of my personality rather than something ME has done to my brains. ;)

So when you're handed a list of SNPs in the hundreds of thousands - or at least, when I am - my brain looks at that long list and fizzles out like a candle in a high wind.