• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Post-polio syndrome

I'm not a doctor or a researcher, and I have no idea whether this has any connection to some ME patient's conditions. I know a Polio-like illness was suspected to be the cause initially, and that Dr Chia thinks other enteroviruses are to blame, but apart from that there doesn't seem to be much interest in this area in terms of ME research.

I didn't write this blog to stir all this up again, but rather because I find the Post-polio syndrome fascinating. I started thinking about it after reading Disease: the Next Big One, in which the author talked about the difficulties early researchers had in identifying viruses as the cause of diseases such as polio. Another chapter discussed why some viruses are more likely candidates to be the Next Big One (global pandemic) than others.