• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

The Life I've Missed

I never got to go to my high school prom. I had actually skipped a year of high school and it was by accident. They had accidentally put me in classes a year ahead, and because I was a straight A student even in those classes, when they realized what they had done, they let me graduate a year early.

That last year of high school for me was 1986. A few months before I graduated, I started to get sick, so no prom for me. I would have liked to have gone. My mother tried to tell me it was no big deal, but it was.

Since I got fully disabled at age twenty one, right out of collage, I never got to get married or go to fun clubs or anything. I had done alittle clubbing and bar hopping in collage. I was actually engaged to be married when I was in college. I called it off. We actually broke up shortly before I got sick. I ended up getting sick from the new guy I started dating. And that was the end of my life. Didn't get to get married. It wouldn't have worked with my fiance. I knew it, that's why I called it off. But I wish it had worked. It would have been nice to have gotten married and had kids. We talked about having kids. Marriage and kids, not gonna happen in this life for me now.