• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

I Hate Not Working

I think it's important to blog about this in so many ways. I was always a workaholic. I was a straight A student and had a 4.0 in college. Anything I ever had to do, I'd give it a hundred and ten percent. Not being able to work is horrible. I would love to find something I can do for money, but I'm simply not well enough.

The smallest things are just too hard for me. I can't even sell stuff on Ebay because I don't know when I'd be well enough to pack it up and get it mailed. I'm just not reliable. And I really can't deal with people returning stuff and all that. I tried with Avon in my apt building and it was a disaster. I wasn't well enough to deliver it. I had to have someone help me, and she ultimately tried to steal stuff. Then I had people that kept returning stuff and I had to pay shipping and take it back to the post office myself. I had to quit it.

I'm not well enough for anything on Craig's List. Just looking at the thing depresses me. There are tons of things I could do if I were well, but in the state of my current health, nothing. I almost get suicidal looking at that list because I always see things I would love to do and can't.