• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

lessons learned

This is my first attempt at a blog post. I've avoided the genre up until now because my personal life is exceptionally dull. ( I could tell you a lot about bedroom ceilings.) Besides reading and sleeping, I do a good bit of thinking. Some of these thoughts may be of interest to others.

While I'm not in a position to say if science (or Science) has gained from the debate over XMRV, I can say what I have learned. While others seem fascinated with who wins and loses, my focus has been on stray facts that bubble to the surface of this stew. Some of them fit together.

The Knox/Levy paper introduced an apparent side issue, that the virus they were using was inactivated via a complement reaction in blood from both healthy controls and patients. This was taken to mean the virus was very unlikely to persist as a human infection. For me this illuminated the problem from a different angle.

Following their citation, you find this is triggered by a viral epitope resembling a particular molecule found on the outer coat of some bacteria. This is an innate rather than acquired immune response. Those bacteria are most likely found in the gut. If they appear in the bloodstream that is a sign of septicemia, for which a quick and decisive immune response is necessary. In this case, it came via the component known as complement.