• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

a sliver of recognition, maybe

Comments

Before I got sick with CFS I was a salesman in the Water Works industry. I used to sell what is called a Radio Read water metering system that was used all over New England. The device had a twenty year battery that was attached to the outside of the House. It was wired to the water meter inside and would read the meter once an hour and transmit the reading over 900 frequencies every 6-8 seconds. The meter reader had a hand held device and would either just walk by the house or drive by with an antanae on the truck.

It was very accurate and saved a lot of money. Short story long...these devices are pretty benign but I used to travel around in my car with about between ten to twenty devices transmitting. I came down with acute chronic pain in my neck which forced me to have a cervical disectomy due to DDD and stensois.

After the surgery my Neck pain got worse and my undiagnosed CFS was launched into orbit. That was in 2005, in 2008 I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia and tested positive for XMRV in 2010. After that I tested positive for HHV-6, post EBV, and all (and I mean all) of the secondary virus that compliment CFS or FMS or CFIDS.