• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

XMRV - Human Virus or Mouse Virus? Technical Explanation.

I can't guarantee that this blog is 100% accurate because I'm not an expert in mouse virology! But I think it's all accurate, after having done some heavy-duty reading about it all. This is purely a discussion of my understanding of the subject, as a lay person.
Any comments or corrections are welcome.

Update: I made an error in this blog regarding the behaviour, and method of transmission, of X-MLV's in X-MLV resistant mice. Thanks to Dr Yes for pointing out that whole X-MLV's are formed in X-MLV resistant mice, whereas I had thought that only partial viruses, or viral particles, could form in this type of mouse. Please see Dr Yes's post in the discussion thread, below, for the correction and some further useful clarifications.
I have corrected the blog and added some clarifications, extra info, additional notes and my sources, and it is now accurate to my best knowledge, with some further clarification from Dr Yes in his post below.
Apologies for the incorrect information. I had warned that there may be inaccuracies, because I'm a lay person (ME patient) and not an expert in mouse virology, but apologies anyway.
The reason for my confusion is that I had thought endogenous viruses could not form whole, fully active, viruses in the host species, but it seems that this is not (always) the case. No human endogenous viruses form whole viruses.

XMRV is purely a human virus, as per as our current knowledge, and it has never been found in mice, so far.