• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

RANDOM THOUGHTS ….What, rose colored ones aren’t good enough ??!? How about green-tinted glasses for pain ???

I’ve been using blue light-blocking glasses for about 3 years now, and find that, while their contribution to a good night’s sleep isn’t a stand-alone answer, they definitely DO help. I’ve verified that by accidentally forgetting to pop them on 1 to 2 hours before trying to sleep, so I’m pretty sure about their positive contribution to that sometimes torturous enterprize.

Which is why I wasn’t entirely surprised when I came across this in NeuroScience News, and knowing how many of us deal with unpredictable and sometimes immobilizing pains and aches from time to time, if not more frequently, I thought I’d mention it here …

1666688884180.png
Quoting from the article,

Wearing special green eyeglasses for several hours a day
reduces pain-related anxiety and may help decrease the need
for opioids to manage severe pain in fibromyalgia patients
and possibly others who experience chronic pain,
according to a study being presented at the

ANESTHESIOLOGY 2022 annual meeting.

“Our research found that certain wavelengths of green light stimulate
the pathways in the brain that help manage pain,” said Padma Gulur, M.D.

Pain and anxiety share similar biological mechanisms. Additionally, fear of pain

exacerbates anxiety, often leading to increased opioid use"