• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

XMRV testing in Germany

eric_s

Hi

Just some days ago, i came across some information that Dr. Bieger in Munich (Mnchen), Germany is offering a test for XMRV.
I was surprised, because i thought that so far there is no such test available in Europe.

Here's the link to the website of his practice
http://dr-bieger.de/

Munich is not sooo far away from where i live (near Zurich, Switzerland) but i have no experience with Dr. Bieger and didn't know about him before i found this.

I have emailed him and asked some questions about this test.
He replied that the cost is around 200 Euros and it's done in cooperation with the University of Heidelberg, after some months of cooperation with them.
He also said that i (and so probably everyone else, i guess) would not have to come to Munich to take the test. The blood could be sent to him, but it would have to reach him in less than 1 day. This shouldn't be a problem.
I also asked about his thoughts about the reliability of this test and if he could provide an approximative percentage of positive results, but he didn't answer to that. I have to say though that he probably answered my email via his mobile phone because he is on holiday now and will be back on the 2nd of July. He said that he will be able to answer further questions then. So the reason he didn't answer all of my questions might be that it was too inconvenient to type a long answer on his mobile and that he just wanted to enjoy his holiday, which i can understand :tongue: