• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Vitamin D may be vital for the efficacy of low-dose naltrexone (LDN)

Hip

I just came across the following comment by researcher Prof Angus G Dalgleish about how vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) is vital for the clinical efficacy of low-dose naltrexone (LDN):
Subject: ME/CFS

Dear Sir/Madam

I am an active researcher in Low Dose Naltrexone (LDN), and have shown that it uses TLR 9 as a receptor in addition to the opiate ones. ( Patent applied for and publication submitted)

I have also shown it enhances a gene set at low doses that are turned off at higher doses which may also explain the extraordinary clinical responses reported to date. Patent and in press( IJC, Liu et al).

My colleague Jonathon Brostoff reports that over half his patients are cured within 3 weeks with LDN treatment. The other half do not improve but I suspect they are vitD3 low as this appears vital for LDN clinical activity in other conditions especially Multiple Sclerosis.

Source: NIH Request for Information on ME/CFS Research Efforts

I cannot find any other references for low levels of vitamin D3 making LDN less effective, but for anyone who is thinking of trying LDN, it may be an idea to supplement with say 5,000 to 10,000 IU of vitamin D3 daily for several weeks before starting LDN (and continuing to supplement while taking LDN), to ensure vitamin D levels are adequate.