Review: 'Through the Shadowlands’ describes Julie Rehmeyer's ME/CFS Odyssey
I should note at the outset that this review is based on an audio version of the galleys and the epilogue from the finished work. Julie Rehmeyer sent me the final version as a PDF, but for some reason my text to voice software (Kurzweil) had issues with it. I understand that it is...
Discuss the article on the Forums.

The Times: One in 40 teenage girls has chronic fatigue

Discussion in 'General ME/CFS News' started by JohnCB, Jan 25, 2016.

1. JohnCB

JohnCB MEow

England
    Similar to the reports on the BBC and The Sun there is a small report in The Times on Esther Crawley's new paper. Being The Times, the online version is behind a paywall. It is also on page 4 of today's print version. I hope I have posted the link correctly, as this is my first attempt on this forum.

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/health/news/article4673767.ece

"One in 40 teenage girls has myalgic encephalomyelitis, according to an analysis of more than 5,000 children.

Girls are twice as likely as boys to suffer from ME, also known as chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS), it found.

The researchers said that doctors needed to get better at spotting the condition, and warned that children were missing huge amounts of schoolwork.

The study, published in the journal Paediatrics, found that poor teenagers were more likely to suffer CFS/ME, which was once known as "yuppie flu". ..."

As these things go it isn't very good or very bad.

I have reproduced the article as far as it is visible this side of the paywall. I assume it is bad form to copy the article in full. Does Phoenix Rising have a policy on this?

CFS_for_19_years likes this.
  2. msf

msf Senior Member

No they don´t. 1 in 40 teenage girls may have chronic fatigue, but they don´t have ME.

justy, PennyIA, K22 and 3 others like this.
  3. CFS_for_19_years

CFS_for_19_years Hoarder of biscuits

USA
    http://forums.phoenixrising.me/index.php?wiki/forum-rules/