Invest in ME Conference 12: First Class in Every Way
OverTheHills wraps up our series of articles on this year's 12th Invest in ME International Conference (IIMEC12) in London with some reflections on her experience as a patient attending the conference for the first time.
Discuss the article on the Forums.

Teenager who diagnosed her own rare illness (after being diagnosed with CFS) - Times article

Discussion in 'General ME/CFS Discussion' started by sarah darwins, Aug 16, 2016.

1. sarah darwins

sarah darwins I told you I was ill

Cornwall, UK
    This is from The Times (of London), for which I have an online subscription. There are probably other articles out there with free access, if someone wants to get Googling (I have to go out soon and don't have time)

It's about a brilliant 13-year-old girl who figured out her own diagnosis after doctors had dumped her in the CFS waste basket.

This seems to me an excellent example of the damage the catch-all CFS conception can do.

[my bolding throughout]

It's a long article so I've quoted a bit more than I usually would from a newspaper (hope The Times will forgive me) but it's interesting stuff.

Link for anyone with Times access: http://www.thetimes.co.uk/edition/times2/how-a-teen-diagnosed-her-own-rare-illness-gct2gd2qx

Last edited: Aug 16, 2016
    leela, svetoslav80, OhShoot and 22 others like this.
  2. barbc56

barbc56 Senior Member

I've gone to the site but can't access the whole article. If offers two types of memberships but it says nothing about cost other than you need to put in information to get the price.

Did I misread or is the Is the quote above the full article?

Edit.

The only reference to this story when I googled was the above source.

Last edited: Aug 16, 2016
  3. sarah darwins

Cornwall, UK