• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Tamiflu for flu?

NilaJones

I seem to have caught a flu. They generally lead to exacerbated symptoms for a month, for me.

This time I actually managed to get some Tamiflu within the 48 hour window. I have never tried it before. I thought it might be a great chance to skip a month of being extra-sick.

But, like a fool, I took the first capsule before thinking to come here and ask you folks' experiences with the stuff.

Maybe it's not too late! I did a search, and found one person who had a general, though short lessening of all symptoms -- and another who had a reactivation of EBV for 4 months :(. That's a pretty small sample set, though, two people.

Have any of you reading this tried Tamiflu? Would you? Why or why not?

Thank you for your help :).

dsdmom

I've taken it. It caused major nausea and some depression for me. Still had the flu and it took me a long time to get over. Don't know that I'd use it again.

NilaJones

Thanks, dsdmom!

Yeah, it's making me pretty nauseous. I am not sure if I will be able to complete the course, for that reason. I came close to dying from stomach stuff a decade ago, and I am leery of re-irritating it.

Unfortunately, I am also not thinking very clearly, so I am not sure how seriously to take the stomach stuff.

Sorry to hear it didn't help with your flu!

I've taken it. It caused major nausea and some depression for me. Still had the flu and it took me a long time to get over. Don't know that I'd use it again.

Raindrop