• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Tai Chi

I would like to start a post on how Tai chi and very importantly qigong saved me many years ago from what I didnt even realise was CFS.

Tai chi is one thing that has not being mentioned positively on this forum. I think this is incorrect.
I have been follwoing Phoenixrising for a couple of years, and its amazing.

I look back and Tai chi saved me almost immediately and the effects were quick. I have to say I had and have a mild version of cfs, as I have read other unfortunate peoples stories.
There is a report that show it helps 84% of CFS sufferers. I
I stopped the taichi foolishly under advice of a Buddhist teacher, and now I am starting it up again.

it helps loads, and I am coming up with a version with other visualisations I learnt from gupta amygdala training and buteyko.

Just thought I would mention this as you were so kind to answer me on an old post!

Hugs here from Valencia Spain

Last edited by a moderator:

ukxmrv

Hi there,

Yes Tai chi has been mentioned on PR before. It maybe because I have POTS in addition to ME that the movements were incredibly hard and I got terrible faintness, dizziness during my attempts and then PEM for days after?

Tai chi was just like any other exercise for me even when performed slowly and gently.

Did you have PEM when you started it originally? (that is a post exertional worsening of symptoms after even small exercise)

Hi,

Sorry to hear Tai Chi gave you PEM afterwards. I remember a friend now with CFS who said my Tai Chi teacher had pushed him too much many years ago.