• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Summary of Research

Hi guys,

This is my first time posting but for a month now I've been reading a bit on CFS/ME and I think it's time I finally ask a question.

Some researchers say that CFS/ME is "3" different illnesses (I think Klimas said this in 2009 with no elaboration I could immediately find). Others say "10-15" different illnesses comprise CFS/ME, with no elaboration either. They say they present in a similar way.

What exactly do they mean? Is it publicly available how these subsets are defined? Does anyone have a guess? How exactly could 10-15 different illnesses possibly cause the same thing? Do they just mean that there's 10-15 different TRIGGERS? Or do they literally mean very different processes are happening in different sufferers bodies. I don't really understand.

Is there some sort of summary of all the research to date? I'm confused how all the different findings mesh together and how they possibly could.

An example of a complete contradiction I've come across is that some people say mitochondrial dysfunction is from oxidative stress from low blood flow. (Newton I think?) But then another doctor in the past has suggested low-blood volume and low blood flow are reactions to cellular acidosis from an already existing mitochrondrial dysfunction. (Cheney I think)

So which is it? It can't be both. Either mitochrondrial dysfunction is a result or cause of POTS/Low-Blood-Volume/Low-Blood-Flow. It can't be both.