1. Patients launch $1.27 million crowdfunding campaign for ME/CFS gut microbiome study.
    Check out the website, Facebook and Twitter. Join in donate and spread the word!
Ergonomics and ME/CFS: Have You Hurt Yourself Without Knowing It?
Having a chronic illness like ME/CFS can make it hard to avoid problems that come from bad ergonomics. Jody Smith has learned some lessons the hard way ...
Discuss the article on the Forums.

Spanish CFS patent

Discussion in 'Latest ME/CFS Research' started by Daffodil, Jul 5, 2011.

1. Daffodil

Daffodil Senior Member

2. maryb

maryb iherb code TAK122

UK
    Thanks daffodil - hope someone can sum it up for us not up to reading it:(
  3. eric_s

eric_s Senior Member

Switzerland/Spain (Valencia)
    I'm really a total layman, but i can give it a try

It's about a substance called alpha-1-antitrypsin. It seems they want to protect a method or methods of how to produce a drug using that substance (alpha-1-antitrypsin) and how to treat ME/CFS with that drug.

A bit further down they say about alpha-1-antitrypsin
    Here they say what they think AAT can do
    I wonder why we haven't heard more about it if it worked so well. There are so many people with ME/CFS in Barcelona, i'm sure there would be enough people willing to try it.

Also read what Dr. Enlander said at the bottom of the page.
  4. maryb

maryb iherb code TAK122

UK
    Thank you eric. So we'll have to wait for proper trials of this drug, looks interesting , but Fukuda criteria:( and only 1 patient ??
  5. justy

justy Senior Member

U.K
    Im not sure how they will patent this, it is already in use as a therapy to treat lung disease caused by alpha-1-antitrypsin deficiency which can cause emphysema and other lung disorders (it is a genetic defect whereby the person does not produce enough alpha 1 antytrypsin to stop lung inflammation) so far it has not been linked with any other inflammatory disorders.