• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Severe Bone Loss Over Short Period Of Time : New Osteoporosis

After doing very well for many years, I am not doing well again. Sick all the time; weak and tired. I am a nutritionist and personal trainer, self employed. I have done all the right vitamins, supplements, and exercise to prevent bone loss and osteoporosis.
Went to my primary care MD for illness and he had me do a repeat dexa scan which showed a 16% bone loss in 2 1/2 years. All in spite of a plant based alkaline diet, years of normal ph urines, normal Ca, D3, K2, magnesium, boron, selenium, supplementation, etc. All bloods normal forever on those. No med side effects. So, my immune defficiency is worse, and I have severe bone loss, in danger of breaking a hip, for no apparant reason. Did not want to, but for now, went on Boniva, until cause of bone loss can be determined. Will test all hormones. Am sure they are low, I am 54. I am worried. I have read that immune deficiencies that are NOT HIV should have bone marrow testing done. Because this is FM/CFIDS, it was never done. I have been sick since 1989. Can this illness actually go the bones, like other forms of cancer? I would never do radiation or chemo. Opinions.. please??

wciarci

Wenderella
warnings about boniva, fosamax

Hi sicktoolong,

Sorry to hear about the bone loss. I am assuming that you take D3, magnesium, calcium? I have heard that the three need to be taken together? My sister just told me of new problems with fosamax and boniva: