• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Mysterious fatigue on B12?

NilaJones

Hi folks :).

I've been attempting to add B12 to my life for the past 6 months or so. What keeps stopping me is the greatly increased fatigue I feel, starting a few hours after taking it and lasting through the next few days.

I have tried hydroxy (Perque) and methyl (Sisu), in smaller and smaller sublingual doses. My latest effort was 1/144 of a Sisu, about 7mcg.

I take a multivitamin (Thorne III) which has 150mcg each of adenosyl and methyl, daily with no problems. But that is not sublingual.

I thought the fatigue was because I feel increased energy for the first two hours after a sublingual dose, and have too much memory impairment to remember not to do more. I thought I was just crashing because of doing too much.

But I eliminated that factor.

I did it by taking the B12 in the early evening, about 5 hours before bed, after which I only did a set routine of yoga stretches, brushed my teeth, watched tv, etc. I was careful not to do anything that I don't do every night.

But I am in terrible shape today.

What am I missing? How do I fix this?

Other stuff I am taking:

- tons of potassium-rich foods (I eat nothing but)
- methylfolate
- lecithin
- fish oil
- GLA
- vit D

Thanks so much for any advice. I am very frustrated!

Edit: Oops! 7mcg, not 75.

caledonia

I've had fatigue with B12 and am pretty sure it's metal detox. I also have flu-like aching with it. However, this was after being on it for a month.