• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Methylation report - feel a bit lost

Hello.

I am very new to this. The reason I got my DNA checked is because I've been dealing with some serious fatigue for couple of years now and I am still in graduate school where being fatigued is strongly affecting my performance.

I run my DNA though Genetic Genie and NutraHacker. Since then, I was trying to make some sense out of it. Overall I thought that I would benefit from Methyl B12 but NutraHacker is telling me to avoid it; it's also telling me to avoid curcumin which I've been taking daily for couple months now. I hear curcumin helps get rid of ammonia and whenever I do prolonged cardio, my sweat smells strongly like ammonia.

I would appreciate any help deciphering my methylation report and whether I should take methyl B12 and curcumin, or any other supplement I should look into.

Here's link to my report: http://imgur.com/a/Bm9Qo

homozygous mutations:

VDR Taq AA
MAO A R297R T
MTRR A66G
CBS C699T AA

heterozygous mutations:

COMT V158M AG
COMT H62H CT
MTHFR A1298C GT
MTR A2756G

Thanks.

Cheesus

If methyl b12 doesn't make you feel jittery, which I think is the risk with taking methylated supplements when you have COMT and maybe MTRR (?) mutations, then it should be fine.

On paper I would theoretically feel very jittery with methyl b12 because I have two homozygous COMT mutations, but the reality is I do fine on it.

If you can't handle methyl b12 you could always try adb12 (adenosylcobalamin).