• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Looking for a UK doctor to prescribe antivirals

Hello all,

I am a newbie when it comes to antiviral stuff, so apologies if this post is pretty basic.

I am based between London and Belfast and looking for a doctor/clinic *near* either of those cities who would be able to treat my ME with antivirals (and or maybe IVIG). Does anyone have any recommendations?

One of my main symptoms are long, recurrent ENT and chest infections. I have elevated IgG for EBV (and possibly herpes virus). Initially I had a lot of bacterial tissue infections, but now they are mostly viral. I feel like if I could boost my immune system my quality of life would improve a lot.

I am interested to hear experiences of Breakspear, as this is the only hospital of this kind I know about.

Many thanks,

J x

charles shepherd

Dear Janet

I assume from what you say that you do not have a copy of the MEA purple book

So I enclose the section on the background to the use of antiviral drug treatment in ME/CFS below, which you should find helpful

There is also a long section on immunomodulatory treatments (including immunoglobulin) if you need an up to date summary of clinical trial information relating to immune system treatments in ME/CFS

I also assume that you may not be aware that the NICE guideline on ME/CFS does NOT recommend the use of antiviral or immunomodulatory treatments - so this is not a form of treatment that is likely to be prescribed on the NHS, unless there are very good reasons for doing so