1. Patients launch a $1.27 million crowdfunding campaign for ME/CFS gut microbiome study.
    Check out the website, Facebook and Twitter. Join in donate and spread the word!
Standing Up for Patients: An Interview with Dr. Derek Enlander
Gabby Klein considers the efforts Dr. Enlander has gone to to ensure that the reality of ME/CFS is presented to the world at large, and gives us an insight into his opinions on some current issues, including an update on the formation of an academy for ME and CFS physicians,...
Discuss the article on the Forums.

Lipkin XMRV study to be released June 30th

Discussion in 'XMRV Research and Replication Studies' started by Alistair, Jun 1, 2012.

  1. August59

    August59 Daughters High School Graduation

    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes:
    389
    Upstate SC, USA
    I hope it is going to be free and allow public access!. mBio is a subscription service and it stats at $220. We will be finding out in a little while!!:thumbsup:
  2. Bob

    Bob

    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes:
    6,673
    England, UK
    I think these are the times for Eastern Time (USA), UK and Sydney:

    Publication of paper: 00.01 Eastern Time (5.01am UK) (2.01pm Sydney)

    Video Conference: 10.30am Eastern Time (3.30pm UK) (00.30 19th Sep Sydney)

    TWIV video: midday Eastern Time (5pm UK) (2am 19th Sep Sydney)

    Apologies for not including more countries...

    Here's a time converter, if anyone wants to check it out for themselves:
    http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclo...136&p3=240&p5=&p6=&p7=&p8=&p9=&p10=&p11=&p12=
    ukxmrv likes this.
  3. Mark

    Mark Acting CEO

    Messages:
    4,412
    Likes:
    1,718
    Sofa, UK
    Yes, it is confusing - since I have to deal with the time zones quite a bit, I'm familiar with the confusion: I think it's because we're not on GMT in the UK at the moment, we're on British Summer Time (BST) (+1 hour), so 4.01am GMT is 5.01am UK time (BST).
  4. Elisa

    Elisa

    Messages:
    87
    Likes:
    24
    ****Found this - is it a leak???? Legit? Spoiler Alert!****

    http://www.scotsman.com/news/health/viral-infection-ruled-out-as-cause-of-me-1-2531721


    Viral infection ruled out as cause of ME

    Published on Tuesday 18 September 2012 00:00
    VIRUSES have nothing to do with chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS), despite earlier evidence of a link, a study has shown.

    The new findings deepen the mystery surrounding the cause of the debilitating condition, also known as myalgic encephalomyelitis (ME).

    Scientists dismissed previous claims that two viruses, known as XMRV and pMLV, may underlie CFS. “The bottom line is we found no evidence of infection with XMRV and pMLV,” said Dr Ian Lipkin, a member of the research team at Columbia University in New York City. “These results refute any correlation between these agents and disease.”

    In 2009 and 2010, separate studies found the two viruses in the blood of CFS patients, raising hopes of identifying an easily treatable cause of the condition. But since then, other investigators have been unable to confirm the results.
  5. urbantravels

    urbantravels disjecta membra

    Messages:
    1,333
    Likes:
    503
    Los Angeles, CA
    They said it, by god, they said it! One of the biggest, stupidest, misleadingest cliches about "negative" results. More information is more information, not a "deepening mystery."

    I'm finna make a Bingo game for Bad Reporting about ME/CFS research. "Deepens the mystery" or variants thereof will definitely be on there.
    ukxmrv likes this.
  6. heapsreal

    heapsreal iherb 10% discount code OPA989,

    Messages:
    6,536
    Likes:
    3,473
    australia (brisbane)
    definately miss informing everyone that viruses arent involved in cfs/me, its the 2 retroviruses not bloody viruses in general, bloody idiots. That sort of info could stop a doc from prescribing antivirals to a patient when it doesnt really refer to the herpes viruses which are found reactivating in many of us???

    bloody dills!!
    maryb, Enid and ukxmrv like this.

See more popular forum discussions.

Share This Page