• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Help with Methylation results?

Sorry I'm a newbie here with this stuff, but am wondering what this means. I have Lyme Disease and have been on treatment for three months and am wondering if there is anything I can do with this information to help me further:

MTHFR Mutations
You have 1 heterozygous (yellow) mutation(s). These are generally not as bad as red homozygous mutation, but they may still worth paying attention to. They include:
MTHFR A1298C is involved in converting 5-methylfolate (5MTHF) to tetrahydrofolate (THF). Unlike MTHFR C677T, the A1298C mutation does not lead to elevated homocysteine levels. This reaction helps generate BH4. BH4 is important in the detoxification of ammonia. The gene is compromised about 70% in MTHFR A1298C (+/+) individuals, and about 30% in people with a heterozygous (+/-) mutations.
BH4 acts as a rate limiting factor for the production of neurotransmitters and catecholamines including serotonin, melatonin, dopamine, norepinephrine, and epinephrine. A MTHFR A1298C + status may cause a decrease in any of these neurotransmitters or catecholamines. It’s also a cofactor in the production of nitric oxide. If your BH4 cycle is not working effectively, you may experience mental/emotional and/or physical symptoms. Mercury, lead, and aluminum may act as a drain on BH4.
Also:
Here are your homozygous mutations as indicated in your SNP gene table above (not including MTHFR):

MAO-A R297R
Here are your heterozygous mutations as indicated in your SNP gene table above (not including MTHFR):
COMT V158M