• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Has anyone been helped by chiropractic care?

jlynx

I've recently started seeing a chiropractor for poor posture and occasional back/ neck pain. I knew I had Scoliosis but after getting x-rays it turns out I have a 30 degree curve in my spine and it looks pretty bad. My neck is out of alignment as well and my shoulders and hips are uneven. I'm wondering if this is contributing to my symptoms and if it is possibly an indirect cause. How can the body function properly if it is so out of alignment?

Has anyone else felt better after seeing a chiropractor? It is pretty expensive so I'm hoping it at least helps a little. So far no changes but I've only had a few adjustments.

CFS_for_19_years

Hoarder of biscuits
I've had a lot of chiropractic work. It never had any effect on my ME/CFS, but it does diminish pain levels at particular spots on my spine. You may be in for the long haul to correct long-standing problems. In between visits you might benefit from a massage, also expensive, but ask your chiropractor if he/she thinks it's appropriate for you. Massage will not correct the misalignments, but it should ease some stiffness and/or spasms that you may develop along the way. If you go that route, I would space adjustments and massages several days apart. Keep up a steady adjustment schedule. Has your chiropractor recommended 2 - 3 adjustments per week?