• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Experience with carbonic anhydrase inhibitors?

anciendaze

Right from the start, I want to emphasize that I am not recommending treatment or making diagnoses in this post. I am asking for information. People with a number of confusing medical problems end up in the ME/CFS category, and some may have been treated with things that are not in common use. I have been given a number of anticonvulsant drugs on the suspicion that I might have a confusing type of epilepsy without obvious seizures, but I have no experience with the type I'm about to describe.

This question came to me via a friend who has a solid diagnosis of a rare condition called hypokalemic periodic paralysis (PP). In my limited experience it is rare for ME/CFS patients to have actual paralysis, though there are cases with extreme weakness that may be hard to distinguish from some variants of periodic paralysis. Officially, this is a rare genetic disorder with an incidence of about 1 in 100,000. However, about 1/3 of PP patients do not have any known genetic markers. It is also common for it to appear in young adults who previously had no such illness. This could indicate an infectious origin, or the action of genes which only become active at sexual maturity.

PP is a channelopathy, with potassium channels most commonly affected. We have considerable reason to suspect disturbances in ion channels and fluid regulation in ME/CFS.