• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

EDS and 23andme

This may already be on the forum, but I found you can browse raw data on 23andme and search for these genes. Then you look for deletions, insertions, or a combination. They would be DD, II, or DI.

I'm a beginner at SNPs, so I hope I am doing it right. I'd be glad to learn more, so if anyone knows, please post.

I searched on each of these below. I think there are more to check for other collagen disorders?
"Mutations in the ADAMTS2, COL1A1, COL1A2, COL3A1, COL5A1, COL5A2, PLOD1, and TNXB genes cause Ehlers-Danlos syndrome."

PennyIA

I'm looking at my 23andMe data as well, though I have so far only looked at COL3A1. I don't have any identified as DD, II, or DI...

but I did find that SNP rs1801184 has been linked to vascular EDS testing as a possible indicator

What I don't know is if I'm reading this correctly?

Gene: COL3A1
Position: 189864582
SNP: rs1801184
Possible values: C or T
My values: CC

- per dbSNP, TT is normal; CC is not rare; but when searched in PubMed/Google Scholar T>C is linked with Vascular EDS.

----- I've looked at a high level at EDS and threw it out because a lot of the visible physical symptoms don't seem to apply. And I certainly don't have hypermobility; although I am a bit more flexible than most people, no where near what is described in a lot of the EDS literature.