• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Cycle: Steady, Hype, relapse, crash...

MDear all,

I am pretty new to CFS ( I think I had it for years but I didn't quite understand it as such). I have many of the symptoms but a mild form in comparison to many others, so I can live normally most of the time. I just wanted to ask others here that also work on normal to really good energy levels some of the time whether you can relate to intense energy cycles. I feel like being bipolar in a physical sense, that if I am well, I am really well and don't mind not sleeping a night, I am really happy, I have a lot of energy and I can deal with intense work phases quite well. However when I crash/relapse my energy levels fall below the normal threshold, I get a variety of physical symptoms etc. and fall into a state of weakness that lasts from days to weeks to months. I made the experience that after such a phase, events that combine a certain sleep deprivation and excitement get me out of this low-energy phases again and make me feel very good for some time. For example, flying and not sleeping two days having a two day flight or intense all-night parties. I also felt that the euphoria involved and e for example has at least not damaged me in any way, I didn't have a low but felt great for weeks in a go.