Invest in ME Conference 12: First Class in Every Way
OverTheHills wraps up our series of articles on this year's 12th Invest in ME International Conference (IIMEC12) in London with some reflections on her experience as a patient attending the conference for the first time.
Discuss the article on the Forums.

Can Lupus cause low blood oxygen levels and fast heart beat?

Discussion in 'Immunological' started by Peyt, Mar 3, 2016.

1. Peyt

Peyt Senior Member

Hi,
    Can Lupus cause low blood oxygen levels and fast heart beat?

2. Thinktank

Thinktank Senior Member

Europe + Asia
    With lupus anything is possible. If there's pulmonary and/or cardiac involvement i think a low blood oxygen level and tachycardia is possible.
    Do you suffer from lupus?

Kati likes this.
  3. Peyt

Peyt Senior Member

I am not sure.
    I am going to see my ND tomorrow whom I have been working with for a couple of months. He has discovered that I have low oxygen (around 96-97) and faster than normal heart beat. (around 100-103). I also get headaches all the time and
    have SIBO and gluten sensitivity.
    He also discovered my low B12 which I have been getting shots for.
    I also have dry and itchy skin and excess mucus since I was a kid.

So I was thinking of asking him to test me for Lupus Anti-bodies.

4. ShyestofFlies

ShyestofFlies

Be sure to test for sjogrens/sicca syndrome as well

Misfit Toy likes this.
  5. Thinktank

Thinktank Senior Member

Europe + Asia
    @Peyt , if lupus is suspected you really have to see a rheumatologist for proper testing and diagnosis.
    Do you have any of the more obvious lupus (SLE) signs? Like a butterfly rash on the cheeks, lesions, hair loss, fever, painful joints etc.?

What do you mean by lupus antibodies? Do you mean AntiNuclear antibiodies (ANA)?
    This can be negative in some cases of lupus. To check for lupus and other conditions a rheumatologist will probably also do the following diagnostics.
    C3
    C4
    CBC
    ESR / CRP