• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Ask DrK, Dr. Anthony Komaroff, Harvard Medical School

*GG*

http://www.askdoctork.com/

My mission for the Ask Doctor K newspaper column

This is the first of a new column: Ask Doctor K. My new column replaces a longstanding health column, Ask Dr. Gott. Former readers of Ask Dr. Gott know he provided considered answers to health and wellness questions from readers. I plan to do the same and I hope you will find my comments as helpful as Dr. Gotts were.

Im a practicing doctor. I see and treat patients, and am a professor at Harvard Medical School. I am also responsible for all of our schools newsletters, special health reports and books about health for the general public.

Why am I writing this column? A patient of mine once surprised me by asking: You take my medical history, you examine my body, you order tests and prescribe treatments. So whats the most important thing you do for a patient?

No one had ever asked me that question. I hadnt asked it myself. So I had to think for a minute. Then I told the patient: The most important thing I do is explain explain what I think is wrong, and why, and explain what needs to be done, and why.

Im writing this column because I believe in the power of information to improve peoples health.