• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Article: Laura Hillenbrand On ME/CFS, Her Formerly Athletic Life and How She Gets By: the SI Intervi

Not only is this an example of heroism, it is an example of how we are ill in different ways. Compared to me, I'm amazed that she is so physically limited but mentally capable of producing an award winning book.

I'm sure writing must cause her problems and is very difficult, but for me, anything that complex mentally especially on a computer will make me physically sick--very much so. I used to be a research scientist and now thinking with complexity for any length of time makes me physically ill and very aggitated. Often, I can go out and function somewhat physically, even play very light sports. At least in terms of frustration, I would say that fatigue is my second worse symptom, just behind mental functioning, which keeps me from doing almost anything I enjoy.

Not only is this an example of heroism, it is an example of how we are ill in different ways. Compared to me, I'm amazed that she is so physically limited but mentally capable of producing an award winning book.