• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Another Methylation Questions Thread. Need Some Advice.

Hey everyone,

I've been doing a ton of reading on this site and trying to make sense of everything, and while I feel like I'm starting to grasp methylation a bit better, some things are still unclear to me. Hopefully @Freddd or someone with a lot of experience can jump in here and help me.

My background is that I am heterozygous for both the MTHFR mutations (A1298 and C677 I think it is). I don't have ME/CFS or anything really serious that I know of, but ever since I found out I had these mutations and started trying methylation, I've been feeling pretty crappy almost every single day.

My daily symptoms include nausea, reduced cognitive function, brain fog, and feeling "off" in my head (kind of like a headache at times but not really a typical headache, idk it's hard to explain...)

I am thinking this may actually be partly due to the donut hole folate insufficiency that Freddd mentions, so I recently started upping my FolaPro to 2x pills 3x per day but something is still missing.

I've been doing Hydroxy B12 2,000 mcg per day which I recently found out I should probably not be using (doctor thinks I might possibly have a COMT mutation too which is why the Hydroxy was recommended for now). I have some MeB12 and AdB12 coming tomorrow and will switch to that to try again. The first time I took MeB12 I had a hard time with it which is why we switched to the hydroxy.

Here are my questions though: