• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

23andMe results.... Where to even start?!?

Hi Everybody -

I am not new to trying to fix my broken down health situation, but I AM new to looking at it from a methylation viewpoint. As you know, there is a LOT to it, and I figured I would throw my info up here and see what you guys might have to say -

To make a super-long story JUST long:

I am:

-a 43 year-old male.

-25 year history of depression, LOTS of counseling over the years - helps a little

-SSRI's have helped somewhat over the past 15 years, but a more recent ADHD meds regimen had made a BIG POSITIVE (if unpredictable) difference over the past few years, at least before my health crashed, anyway

-PLENTY of silver amalgams as a kid, ALL of which were replaced over the years (NOT safely, BTW) before I was aware that mercury was so bad for you, etc.

-TICK BITE 4 years ago - thus Lyme disease for the last 4 years, along with the usual other stuff - probable leaky gut, candida, (yes I took abx for a while, IV also.....) sinus staph infection ongoing.

I have done my own research and treatment for lyme disease constantly for the past 4 years. I JUST stumbled on some more info about methylation, the inexpensive genetic testing available now, etc. The more I read, the more "suspicious" I was about ME and methylation, etc. For the lyme AND for the depression, etc.

**Several months ago, I added in a VERY basic "methylation" protocol to my other supplements, and this seemed (possibly?) to help with my mood a little bit, albeit very unsteady.