• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Search results

1. persuasion

A disease with two faces? Re-naming ME/CFS

You may be right - I think it was a regional thing. I was diagnosed in the 80s also but in London and I never heard the term ME until quite a few years later and I knew a lot of sufferers. It doesn't really matter now. ME has been contaminated. It's partly the fault of it being bound with CFS...
  2. persuasion

Unfortunately, I am a reluctant expert on ME since I've had it severely for 27 years. But you're right, I think ME was in usage in some parts of the UK and but perhaps not in all. I was diagnosed in the late 80s and it wasn't used for me nor anyone I knew. Perhaps it was a regional thing? I...
  3. persuasion

I agree. Ramsay's Disease doesn't have the word 'fatigue' in it, which must be good. The label, 'ME' is so stigmatised it's painful to use.
  4. persuasion

Love the 'elevator' explanation. To strangers and acquaintances, I pretend I'm well. To doctors I use the term ME (which I loathe saying to the point that if I have to see a consultant about another health concern and they ask: are you in good health? I'll say, yes just to avoid saying ME.)...
  5. persuasion

persuasion submitted a new blog post: A disease with two faces? Re-naming ME/CFS Persuasion Smith covers the bases on the misleading and disreputable name for our disease we've all been saddled with ... If there is one thing that is sure to get ME/CFS sufferers riled up, it is the name of our...
  6. persuasion

ME/CFS: A disease at war with itself