• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

ME/CFS Test? Can you raise your legs when lying down?

ahmo

I thought this might be brain education. I only wish I had muscle strength. I just tried now, it's effortless to lift my legs.

A while back I read that many of us have cerebellum problems, unable to walk with eyes closed and placing one foot in front to the other. I found I couldn't do that without wobbling all over. I started practicing it, and got a bit better. When I tried it the other day, thinking about this thread, I'm again very shaky. Something to resume, getting balance together must be a good thing.

Sushi

Moderation Resource Albuquerque
A while back I read that many of us have cerebellum problems, unable to walk with eyes closed and placing one foot in front to the other. I found I couldn't do that without wobbling all over. I started practicing it, and got a bit better. When I tried it the other day, thinking about this thread, I'm again very shaky. Something to resume, getting balance together must be a good thing.
A PT has me do a nifty cognitive exercise for balance: lean a step ladder against a wall. Stand on one leg and "play the piano" with the other foot tapping lightly and quickly on various steps of the ladder, randomly.

Groggy Doggy

A PT has me do a nifty cognitive exercise for balance: lean a step ladder against a wall. Stand on one leg and "play the piano" with the other foot tapping lightly and quickly on various steps of the ladder, randomly.

Thats a fun one Sushi. Didn't Laura Hillenbrand mention something about PT?