• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Interview with Dr. De Meirleir about ME/CFS/SEID and Lyme Oct, 2014

paolo

@voner thank you so much for satisfying my curiosity. :)

Any of the Lyme experts out there know much about anti-neural antibodies? Is this something researchers are trying to use to show like some kind of post-Lyme autoimmune response?

I'm studying anti-brain antibodies, and in particular their relationship with Lyme disease (the chronic form). Moreover I'm doing some investigations in my own case. I think we should open another thread about this issue.

Jonathan Edwards

"Gibberish"
Prof. Edwards, given that even the NHS cite Lyme as one of the illnesses that have to be excluded before a diagnosis of ME can be made, and given that a number of ME physicians (KDM, Lerner, etc) have found significant numbers of Lyme cases in their patients, and that Lyme tests are notoriously insensitive, how confident can you be that the Lyme and the ME populations have been completely seperated out?

The study cited above will have the same drawbacks that I pointed out the Lyme vs ME spinal fluid study must have. This was in the thread about the Lipkin spinal fluid study. Basically, if the authors did a good job of seperating out the two populations, then what their hypothesis is a tautology. If they haven´t, then the significance of their findings can be called into question.