• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Lipkin at the NIH: NIH Telebriefing Transcript Available

Cort

Phoenix Rising Founder
I always love listening to Ian Lipkin. He's very clear and very organized. You can find the transcript and call here - https://www.nih.gov/research-traini...ves/mecfs/nih-me/cfs-advocacy-call-march-2018

Some highlights for me - Lipkin emphasized subsets

And as a clinician as well as a scientist I can tell you that I've seen many patients with these disorders and there are people who respond to antivirals and there are other people who respond to modifiers of the microbiome. And there are other people who respond to drugs that alter neurotransmitter levels. And I'm not certain that these are all the same. But they manifest with fatigue and cognitive dysfunction.

We also have an effort to try to identify these phenotypes by mining these databases that we have, using state of the art methods that are typically employed by people who want to figure out whether or not the stock market or particular stock is going to go up or down. Machine learning, ways in which you find patterns that may not be readily apparent using traditional methods for analysis of complex sets of information.