• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Working from Home

David Jackson

My health and energy have reached the level where I’ve started thinking about this. However, I’m a little unsure about how to go about it.

Back when I was healthy, I stayed at university for a long time, and got my Masters. Straight after that, I joined a monastery for a few years. After that, I got sick. Thus, although I studied accountancy at uni, I never got any kind of career started before my health crashed.

After a lot of work, and a lot of luck, my health is gradually returning. I’m gardening for an hour and a half every day, and doing yoga most days too. While it doesn’t really feel like I have CFS anymore, in reality, only 5% of my energy has come back thus far. It’s still not easy to leave the house for all that long, and, thus, I’d need to start out working from home.

Does anyone have any thoughts and/or experience with this? Anything at all would be appreciated, even really out there suggestions. Think of it like this: what would you do if you were me?

Thanks in advance.