• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

New to Methylation

I'm very new to using genetic information to find possible therapies for health issues. I have severe anxiety, among other symptoms, and am hoping to use my methylation gene analysis to help guide me on supplements and diet changes I could make to see some improvement. I've just started to dive into it though and am getting a bit twisted up so I was hoping I could get some advice from this community. Here are my results:

Here are your homozygous mutations as indicated in your SNP gene table above (not including MTHFR):

• VDR Taq
  • MTRR A664A
  • BHMT-08
Here are your heterozygous mutations as indicated in your SNP gene table above (not including MTHFR):

• MAO-A R297R
  • ACAT1-02
  • MTRR A66G

From what I've researched so far, it seems like I might benefit from a methylated B-12 supplement and maybe Vitamin D.

What are your thoughts? Do you think anxiety/panic attacks would stem from these mutations?

@swerty - VDR Taq and BHMT-08 are reported backwords, and have little impact anyhow. You have the slightly better versions.

MTRR A664A doesn't have an impact, and MTRR A66G will only have an impact if homozygous or compound heterozygous with another substantial missense mutation.

The ACAT1 SNP has no known impact. MAOA R297R also has no impact.

There don't seem to be any problems with those methylation SNPs.

Last edited: