• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Is it time to take the pledge to NOT donate blood?

Moderator Note - This thread started with the following post about raising public awareness of risks to the blood supply from CFS patients, by threatening to donate blood. However, please read through the entire thread as the message has been modified to take a pledge NOT to donate blood, and use that pledge to help raise awareness of CFS as a potentially infectious disease.

I can't ignore it any longer. I am ANGRY! I have not been this angry since I read 'Osler's Web'. I am no newbie and thought I had gotten pretty good at swallowing my anger. I have been subscribing to CFS forums since the mid '90's. Then, every few years when, as a group, our anger and frustration reached a boiling point, SOME CRAZY PWCFS would suggest a BLOOD DRIVE. Well, today I am that crazy PWCFS! I am bracing myself for an onslaught of criticism for my suggestion. But please just let me finish.

I went to the meeting in DC last year and I listened to my government tell me they were "considering" locking us out of the blood supply. Weeks later, it sent out the word that CFS and XMRV were still "unproven" and so the blood supply did not need to be protected from us. I DISAGREE!