• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Really Struggling

Hi all,
The past two weeks have been exceptionally difficult. I've been sick for about a year now, diagnosed as Lyme-positive just about a month ago, with at least two co-infections (bartonella and babesia, still waiting on the Galaxy lab results for some others). I'm also a university student in the penultimate quarter of my BA.

Luckily I have a pretty good Lyme doctor who already has a treatment protocol and has seen other cases like mine. Because of the possibility of a herx reaction, we've decided not to start the antibiotics until the end of my quarter, which is in about a month's time. I was fine with that when we made the decision- although I obviously wasn't getting better, I thought that the downward progression had stopped. Of course, about two weeks later the severity of my symptoms increased again, and now I'm finding it very difficult to function.