• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

What constitutes reliable evidence?

Laelia

The problem is that you are rejecting how science works. Just because the process is imperfect and can be abused, you seem to be suggesting that non-science is just as good. It isn't.

Please can you explain the way in which you think I am rejecting how science works? And in what way I am suggesting that non-science is just as good? Thanks ☺

As a doctor I wouldn't prescribe placebos and I wouldn't recommend CAM. But if a patient was already using CAM or wanted to try it, I would explain that it is not supported by scientific evidence and when it appears to work it is likely due to a placebo effect but it's probably safe. I would tell the patient 'if you decide to disregard the lack of evidence and try it, either because you believe it might work or just in hope of getting a placebo effect, I have no objections. But please don't discontinue conventional treatment x because it's essential to your health'.

Don't get me wrong, I like Dr Hall and I think she is well meaning when she tries to warn patients about using alternative medicine. However I think she is very misguided in her belief that conventional medicine is always efficacious and safe.

I don't think you can conclude from her comments that she believes conventional medicine is always effacious and safe. I don't know any doctors who believe that. And safe doesn't mean absence of side-effects.

I see the post has been edited to: