• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of, and finding treatments for, complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia, long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Genetic Results, and Organic Acid Test?

Hi All..
Newbie here. I wanted to ask a few questions. I wanted to ask for any insights, help, as I learn more and more of genetics. I wanted to ask if someone could possible help me to marry the organic acid test, with genetic results. Which markers connect to possible snps. Im still learning about snps, methylation etc. It's all new. The Organic Acid test from Great Plains, gives lots of details on the report, what to take to help, but I'm just trying to put the puzzle together with the genetic snp.

A short summary of the report states : reveals the inability to metabolize the proteins leucine, lysine, tryptophan, hydroxylysine due to enzyme deficiencies, mitochondrial dysfunction, and bacterial overgrowth. Adrenal fatigue and low serotonin levels are suspected.

Test result ------------------------ Possible Indications
Slightly High Glyceric -- -- Genetic marker
Slightly High Oxalic -----Excess oxalates
High Fumaric -----Mitochondrial dysfunction
High 3-Methylglutaric ------Leucine metabolism/mitochond
Slightly High 3-Hydroxyglutaric -----Glutaryl CoA deficiency
Slightly High 3-Methylglutaconic -----Leucine metab/mitochon
Slightly Low Vanillylmandelic (VMA) ------Adrenal fatigue
High HVA/VMA Ratio -------Adrenal fatigue
Slightly Low 5-Hydroxyindoleacetic (5-HIAA) -------Slightly low serotonin
High Quinolinic/5-HIAA Ratio -------Adrenal fatigue/tryptophan
High Uracil ------Folic acid deficit
High 3-Hydroxybutyric ------Protein malnutrition/B12