• Welcome to Phoenix Rising!

Created in 2008, Phoenix Rising is the largest and oldest forum dedicated to furthering the understanding of and finding treatments for complex chronic illnesses such as chronic fatigue syndrome (ME/CFS), fibromyalgia (FM), long COVID, postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS), mast cell activation syndrome (MCAS), and allied diseases.

To become a member, simply click the Register button at the top right.

Viral Parkinsonism

Hello all. I am new to this CFS/ME world but I think it fits more closely to what I am dealing with. I started off 4 plus years ago with shoulder blade pain, neck pain,, rigidity (flu-like fatigue) and a tremor.

The tremor got all of the attention and I was boxed in with a label right away. Parkinson's... not Parkinsonism which is a mimicry of the classic lack of dopamine.

I tit-rated up and down with the max/min dosage of Sinemet. I tried Rytary which is a combo slow/fast release of Ldopa. I switched to Mucuna to play with dosages and stay away from carbidopa (it depletes vitamin B6). What I came away with, if I took away the tremor, it would put me right in with CFS/ME. Pain, fatigue, depression, flu-like all day malaise. My tremor seems to be more controlled now with an anti-inflammatory.

So that leads me to believe that I have Viral Parkinsonism (or HSV-1 Encephalitis). That is self-diagnosed at this point. They say it's quite rare but it does exist. The flu pandemic of 1918/1919 had a lot of accounts.

I have also been working with a functional medicine doctor. We tested for viruses. I have active EBV, CMV, HSV-1, HHV-6. I have since been working with another doctor who is familiar with CFS/Fibro as he has dealt with it himself for 30 years. I am now taking valacyclovir, L-lysine, LDN, Baicailin... and a bunch of herbal immune support and anti-virals.

After a few good days here and there for two months, I have been blessed with a 5 day stretch of feeling pretty good.